Northern Illinois Police Alarm System


The Northern Illinois Police Alarm System (NIPAS) is comprised of 99 separate police agencies all across North Eastern Illinois.

Over the Years

NIPAS was first developed in 1983 to address the need for a mutual aid system among police departments to ensure effective police services during natural disasters.

The model of NIPAS later expanded to become a model for police mutual aid all over the state of Illinois as part of ILEAS, the Illinois Law Enforcement Alarm System.

After several years, NIPAS formed the Emergency Services Team, EST, a highly trained SWAT and WMD team, and the Mobile Field Force, MFF, handling mass arrests and large scale disturbances.

The Roselle Police Department has an officer assigned to MFF.