Mutual-Aid Box Alarm System or MABAS Division 12 is comprised of municipal fire departments and fire protection districts located mainly in DuPage County which has been in existence since the late 1960’s.  MABAS includes approximately 35,000 of Illinois’ 40,000 firefighters who staff emergency response units including more than 1,500 fire stations, 2,495 engine companies, 469 ladder trucks, 1,100 ambulances, 297 heavy rescue squads and 788 water tenders.  Fire/EMS reserve (back-up) units account for more than 1,000 additional emergency vehicles.  Division XII also supports teams specializing in response to hazardous materials, water rescue and technical rescue incidents.  

The mission of MABAS Division 12 is to coordinate automatically the effective and efficient response of mutual aid fire, EMS and specialty team personnel and equipment during emergencies and disasters and to support member agencies in achieving these goals.